Privacy, Clubs and Friends
-
I just imported my stuff and a club's stuff into web-beta.
I was surprised to find my personal activity shown on the club activity page (with no way to remove it).
I investigated what the privacy settings seem to do, leading to this one requested bug fix and a couple of suggestions:-
[Bug] The activity shown in a club seems wrong. I currently see all my personal/private activity under the club, even with my personal profile set to private. I cannot tell if all club members can see it or not - this is at best confusing.
Solution: The activity shown in a club should be that which is made visible to me because I'm in the club, and not include entries I can see because I'm me. The list should reflect what all club members can see. -
[Suggestion] Separate "clubs" and "friends" from the single profile setting. I'd have thought many users would want to do one and not the other.
-
[Suggestion] Better yet, have whether an activity is shared depend upon what that activity is.
If I make a private route, have that activity private.
If I change a route with visibility friends, let friends see the activity.
If I change a club owned route, let the club see that activity.
-
-
I just imported my stuff and a club's stuff into web-beta.
I was surprised to find my personal activity shown on the club activity page (with no way to remove it).
I investigated what the privacy settings seem to do, leading to this one requested bug fix and a couple of suggestions:-
[Bug] The activity shown in a club seems wrong. I currently see all my personal/private activity under the club, even with my personal profile set to private. I cannot tell if all club members can see it or not - this is at best confusing.
Solution: The activity shown in a club should be that which is made visible to me because I'm in the club, and not include entries I can see because I'm me. The list should reflect what all club members can see. -
[Suggestion] Separate "clubs" and "friends" from the single profile setting. I'd have thought many users would want to do one and not the other.
-
[Suggestion] Better yet, have whether an activity is shared depend upon what that activity is.
If I make a private route, have that activity private.
If I change a route with visibility friends, let friends see the activity.
If I change a club owned route, let the club see that activity.
@Andy-Nicholson, Within the club settings, an admin can choose what activity to reflect:
- Activity of members
- Activity of club only

The first option is default
-
Hello! It looks like you're interested in this conversation, but you don't have an account yet.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
With your input, this post could be even better 💗
Register Login